Medical School honors its top educators during inaugural League dinner

1/23/13 League of Educational Excellence dinner at BSRB.

On Jan. 23 in the Omenn Atrium of the A. Alfred Taubman Biomedical Science Research Building, Medical School Dean James O. Woolliscroft, M.D., the Lyle C. Roll Professor of Medicine, and Senior Associate Dean for Education and Global Initiatives Joseph C. Kolars, M.D., the Josiah Macy, Jr. Professor of Health Professions Education, co-hosted a dinner during which some of the school’s most-esteemed educators were honored with induction into The League of Educational Excellence.

The league was established in 2013 to celebrate the school’s teaching faculty who are committed to preparing the next generation of Michigan physicians and scientists. Many of the nearly 100 members of the first League of Educational Excellence class had been lauded previously for their teaching as recipients of the Kaiser-Permanente Awards for Excellence in Teaching or the Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education through the Dean’s Awards Program; department chairs nominated others. The school has honored its research (2011) and clinical (2012) faculty during similar league celebrations.

All inductees received a special medallion commemorating their membership in the inaugural class.

A list of honorees can be found at: