Seeking nominations for 2013 Social Worker of the Year

You can make a difference to a social worker!  The Beverly Jean Howard Award for Excellence in Social Work recognizes excellence in social work practice and is given in the name of our beloved colleague who died in September, 2002.  The 2013 award recipient will have his/her name inscribed on a perpetual plaque, receive an individual plaque, and receive funding for continuing professional education.  In addition to the award recipient, every nominee will be honored.

Please fill out a nomination form at Nomination deadline is Jan. 28. at 11:59 p.m. Nominations must be emailed to If you should experience any difficulties at all with your transmission, please contact Mary Ann Wilson at or 764-8052.

This year’s award ceremony will take place on Thursday, March 28, beginning at 9:30 a.m. in the Dow Auditorium Lobby of the Towsley Center.  We have many skilled and talented social workers and your nomination is appreciated.  Even if you have nominated someone previously, this may be their year to receive this award.

Please note that the selection committee will consider only social workers for whom a nomination form has been completed.  No other method of nomination will be accepted.

Previous recipients of this prestigious award are Dan Fischer from Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (2003), Sallie Foley from Sexual Health Services (2004), Kathie Supiano from Geriatric Center (2005), Cindy Brown from Pediatric Liver Transplant (2006), John Kettley from Psychiatric Emergency Services (2007), Jane Deering from Hematology/Oncology (2008), Beth Spencer from Geriatrics Center (2009), Laura Nitzberg from Psychiatry (2010), Kristine Beard from Psychiatry (2011), and Mary Rumman from Geriatrics Center (2012).  Award recipients are not eligible to be nominated again for five years following their receipt of the award.

Eligibility:  Any UMHS Department of Social Work social worker who has a MSW, with the exception of past recipients, members of the Social Worker of the Year Committee, and those hired after March 1, 2012.  This year’s committee includes:  Maria Arredondo, Kate Bullard, Karen Cunningham, Kathy Diehl, Susan Duart-Digon, Amanda Eidemiller, Dan Fischer, Jacinta Florek, Barb Rose, Jeremy Suttles, Kathy Wade, and Mary Ann Wilson.

Areas for Consideration:

• How does your nominee demonstrate professional performance at a consistently excellent level?  How does your nominee demonstrate excellence in service toward internal and external customers?

• What significant contributions has your nominee made to the field of social work; i.e., clinical practice, education, program development, research, and/or leadership?• In what way does your nominee promote social work practice within and outside the hospital?• Give an example of how your nominee demonstrates effective and innovative social work practice.

Other Guidelines:

• Only UMHS employees may nominate a social worker for recognition.
• Self-nominations and solicited nominations will not be accepted.